Image 1
NAMS HOUSE - Ansari Nagar, Mahatma Gandhi Marg, New Delhi-110029




National Academy of Medical Sciences (India) is a unique institution which fosters and utilizes academic excellence as its resource to meet medical and social goals. It was registered as the ‘Indian Academy of Medical Sciences’ on 21st April, 1961 under Societies Registration Act XXI of 1860. It was inaugurated at New Delhi on 19th December 1961 by Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, the first Prime Minister of India. The Academy was re-named ‘National Academy of Medical Sciences’ on 16th November, 1976 on the recommendations of a Working Group set up by the Govt. of India. The official address of the Academy is NAMS House, Mahatma Gandhi Marg, Ansari Nagar, New Delhi-110029.

The Academy encourages and sponsors nation-wide CME programmes, Symposia, Workshops etc. Over the years the Academy has recognized the outstanding achievements made by the Indian scientists in the field of medicine and allied sciences and conferred Fellowship as well as Membership to the selected persons through a peer reviewed process and finally voting by all the Fellows. As on 31st October, 2010, the Academy has on its roll, 6 Honorary Fellows, 830 Fellows and 4950 Members (including 1625 MAMS and 3325 MNAMS).

The Academy also elects very eminent persons as Honorary Fellows. The list of eminent persons who have been conferred Honorary Fellowship of the Academy includes Shri Jawahar Lal Nehru, Dr. BC Roy, Major Gen. SL Bhatia, Col. RN Chopra, Dr HM Lazarus, Dr. Jivaraj N Mehta, Dr. A Lakshamanswami Mudaliar, Dr NA Purandare, Maj Gen SS Sokey, Dr AC Ukil, Dr Sushila Nayar, Smt. Indira Gandhi, Dr VTH Gunaratne, Dr. Karan Singh, Dr Ihsan Dogramaci, Dr. FC Robbins, Dr U Ko Ko, Dr. Dharmendra, Shri PV Narasimha Rao, Prof. Rolf Luft, Dr CP Thakur and Dr PK Sethi. The Academy is proud of the fact that Dr APJ Abdul Kalam, an eminent Scientist and former President of India, is one of its Fellows.

A number of prestigious Orations and Awards have been instituted by the Academy and are bestowed upon eminent bio-medical scientists in recognition of their outstanding contributions.

Ansari Nagar, Mahatma Gandhi Marg,  New Delhi-110029
Telephone: +91-11-26589289, 26588718, 26589326 Telegram: "MEDACADEMY" New Delhi11:00 20/04/2015 Fax: +91-11-26588992

Best Viewed with Mozilla Firefox 3.0 or higher with 1024x768 resolution at true colors